OUI Attorneys In Maine
Serving the Areas of Saco, Bangor, Portland, Biddeford and Augusta
Have you been arrested in Maine for OUI charges? If so, there is important information that you need to know. For example, you only have 10 business days to stop your license from being suspended. A Portland OUI attorney can make sure you can keep your license until your trial, but only if you call right away.
It is illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater in almost every state including Maine, and the penalties for a DUI or OUI charge and conviction will be detrimental to one's future. OUI stands for operating a vehicle under the influence. Other terms used include DUI, DWI and OWI. While the acronyms vary by region, the charges and penalties are the same. Police everywhere are trained to spot drivers who are under the influence, but they often make mistakes. Just because you are charged with an OUI, does not mean that you are guilty. You will have a chance to defend yourself in court. If you have been charged with OUI.
Maine DUI Defense Attorney
Police officers in Maine take OUI very seriously. In 2008, 43 people were killed in Maine in accidents where at least one driver had a BAC of 0.08% or above. For this reason, harsh penalties have been enacted in Maine for individuals who are caught and convicted of driving while drunk. Even first-time offenders will face Class D crime penalties of a minimum $500 fine, a period of incarceration and a court-ordered suspension of a driver's license for a period of 90 days. The good news is, DUI lawyers have defense strategies that work.
There are many factors that can complicate your OUI arrest making sentencing more serious and charges more difficult to defend. Some of the most common aggravating factors in an OUI/DUI case include:
- Drugs - Alcohol is not the only intoxicant that can lead to an OUI, all kinds of drugs can too.
- Underage drinking - If you are under the legal drinking age, the legal BrAC is 0.01%
- Accidents and injuries - Drunk drivers who cause accidents and injury or death can face additional charges.
- Reckless driving - Excessive speeding or swerving can add reckless driving charges to an OUI.
- Previous OUI convictions - For every previous OUI conviction in the past 10 years, you will be punished harsher.
- Child endangerment - A minor in the car while you are intoxicated leads to extra charges for child endangerment.
- Hit and Run - Hitting a car or person while drunk can only be made worse if you attempt to leave the scene.
Fighting Your DUI Charges
There are numerous ways that a person can be charged with DUI in Maine, including blood tests, breath tests, and field sobriety tests. The method for challenging a DUI arrest starts with examining the type of test that was used for faults or violations of the defendant's rights. Attorney William T. Bly is a highly skilled OUI lawyer and has received the following DUI certifications that enable him to defend the rights of the accused:
Intoxilyzer Operator & Technician
Student and Instructor Certified to administer Standardized Field Sobriety Testing
Having this extensive knowledge of how sobriety tests are administered allows attorney Bly to examine your police stop and arrest and look for errors. Even something that seems minor to the common person could be grounds to argue that your test results were not accurate. Questioning sobriety test results in a DUI case is usually the best defense because in many cases it is the best and only evidence the court has against you. If that evidence (i.e. the test results) is put into question, your defense becomes a lot stronger and, in some circumstances, may lead to your charges being thrown out.
Administrative License Suspension
If you have been arrested for OUI in Maine, you must request a BMV hearing within ten days of the date of your arrest in order to fight an automatic driver's license suspension from the Secretary of State. The period of time that your driver's license will be suspended is dependent on the number of DUI arrests on your record. A first-time DUI conviction results in a 90-day suspension, two DUI convictions results in a three year suspension and three or more DUI convictions will result in a six year suspension.
Maine OUI / DUI Lawyers
For some people, the loss of their ability to drive is the worst part of an OUI / DUI conviction. The good news is that with the help of an experienced Biddeford OUI attorney, you may be able to get a restricted license that will allow you to drive to and from school, work and health related appointments. If you have been arrested for OUI, contact our firm right now to speak with an experienced Maine OUI defense lawyer who can help you.